Thursday, January 11, 2018
Friday, January 05, 2018
Thursday, January 04, 2018
Thursday, December 28, 2017
Tuesday, December 26, 2017
  • by Katherine Ellison for ProPublica and Nina Martin, ProPublica
  • 0

Every year in the U.S., nearly 4 million women give birth, the vast majority without anything going amiss for themselves or their babies. But more than 135 expectant and new mothers a day — or more than 50,000 a year, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention — endure dangerous and even life-threatening complications that often leave them wounded, weakened, traumatized, financially devastated, unable to bear more children or searching in vain for answers about what went wrong.

Tuesday, December 12, 2017
Friday, December 08, 2017
  • by Jesse Eisinger / ProPublica
  • 0

After Hurricane Irma hit three months ago in Orlando, Florida, the local police got a desperate 911 call from a 12-year-old boy reporting that his mother and siblings were unconscious. Fumes overcame the first deputy who rushed to the scene. After the police arrived at the property, they found Jan Lebron Diaz, age 13, Jan’s older sister Kiara, 16, and their mother Desiree, 34, lying dead, poisoned from carbon monoxide emitted by their portable generator. Four others in the house went to the hospital. If 12-year-old Louis hadn’t made that call, they might have died, too.

Monday, December 04, 2017
Monday, December 04, 2017
Wednesday, November 29, 2017
Sunday, November 26, 2017
Wednesday, November 22, 2017
Tuesday, November 14, 2017
Monday, November 13, 2017
Sunday, November 12, 2017
Friday, November 10, 2017
Saturday, September 30, 2017
  • JIM McKEE For the Lincoln Journal Star
  • 0

Through the decades, Lincoln has had its share of murders with most but not all resolved to everyone’s satisfaction. One of the most publicized occurred in a decade when Lincoln was almost openly involved in gambling, drinking and vice. The killer or killers were almost certainly known and stood trial but were still found innocent to the amazement and chagrin of Lincoln’s citizenry.

Wednesday, September 27, 2017
Tuesday, September 26, 2017
Tuesday, September 19, 2017
Sunday, September 10, 2017
  • By Alex Harris and Charles Rabin/Miami Herald
  • 0

Hurricane Irma picked up speed Sunday afternoon with slower wind speeds and was expected to reach Naples, Fla., by nightfall.

National Hurricane Center forecasters said the storm was moving north at 12 mph, up from 9 mph, and that maximum sustained winds dropped to 120 mph.

Tuesday, August 29, 2017
Monday, August 28, 2017